Christmas Entertainment

Cher's First Holiday Album Requests The DJ Play A Christmas Song

Cher unwraps a musical present with the release of her first Christmas album, infusing the holiday season with her signature flair and timeless vocals.

by | October 30, 2023

Cover artwork for Cher's first holiday album, Christmas

From Billboard charts to the big screen, Cher continues to amazing us time and time again. Yet throughout her nearly six-decade long career, she has never released a Christmas album — not even while part of Sonny & Cher. But all of that has finally changed with the release of her newest album, simply entitled ‘Christmas.’ Filled with dance, and some surprise musical guests. Aside from being her first holiday album, it also marks the first time she’s released original material since 2013’s ‘Closer to the Truth.’

Cher first hinted at plans to produce a holiday album in July before officially announcing it in September via her Instagram. That same month, while on Good Morning Britain, she stated that it was ‘not your mother’s Christmas album,’ but one that had Cher written all over it. She also told the Associated Press that she hadn’t intended to make a holiday album at first but was very excited nonetheless. 

"It's like, I didn't want to do it. I think everybody in the universe knows that, and I didn't know what I was doing when I started it. I didn't have a goal. I just didn't want to do a Christmas album. I wanted to do an album with a Christmas theme that would make people feel happy during the holidays, but I wanted to do a Cher album."


And we say she definitely succeeded.

‘Christmas’ features 13 tracks, making it a good mix of brand new songs and classics like Santa Baby and Run Rudolph Run. And thanks to a last minute decision, half of these tracks feature some very special guests — Michael Bublé, Cyndi Lauper, Darlene Love, Tyga, and Stevie Wonder. Cher was especially excited to bring them on since she’s never included duets on any of her solo albums before. And bringing Darlene Love on for her rendition of ‘Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)’ brought things full-circle for both artists. Not many know that Cher actually sang background vocals on Love’s original recording at just 17 years old.

‘Christmas’ was officially released on October 20th, 2023 and it’s already become a big success for the entertainment icon. The first single ‘DJ Play a Christmas Song’ — released on October 6th — debuted at Number 3 on Billboard's Dance/Electronic Digital Song Sales Charts. Fans can purchase ‘Christmas’ through Amazon, Apple Music, Target, Walmart, and Cher’s official website. The Elf Squad already has our copy and know you’ll love every dance-worthy track just as much as we do.

Cher's ‘Christmas’ Track List

  1. ‘DJ Play a Christmas Song’
  2. ‘What Christmas Means to Me’ (with Stevie Wonder)
  3. ‘Run Rudolph Run’
  4. ‘Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)’ (with Darlene Love)
  5. ‘Angels in the Snow’
  6. ‘Home’ (with Michael Bublé)
  7. ‘Drop Top Sleigh Ride’ (with Tyga)
  8. ‘Please Come Home For Christmas’
  9. ‘I Like Christmas’
  10. ‘Christmas Ain’t Christmas Without You’
  11. ‘Santa Baby’
  12. ‘Put a Little Holiday in Your Heart’ (with Cyndi Lauper)
  13. ‘This Will Be Our Year’

Want to add a timeless look to your holiday decor?

Rent-A-Christmas can help!

Get in touch